ILLUS 20140523 - How can we help free Hanh- VTHC Assistant Secretary asked jailed unionist's mother

Hanh’s mother, Mrs Tran, fled Vietnam soon after her daughter was given 7 years in 2010 for helping to organise a 2009 strike in a shoe factory by 11,000 workers.

“IF I MUST GO TO HELL TO FIGHT, I WILL”

“Advocating for workers’ rights, as my daughter did, is the honorable thing to do. I will fight for her freedom. If I must go to hell to fight, I will”, said the determined, at times tearful, mother.

Victorian Trades Hall Council’s Assistant Secretary told Mrs Tran that the Australian union movement has raised the case of Hanh and her colleagues, Hung and Chuong, at several levels. In particular, the ACTU has raised their imprisonment with Canberra, and with Hanoi’s state-owned union VGCL.

“IT IS WRONG FOR VGCL TO BRAND [WORKERS RIGHTS ADVOCATES] AS CRIMINALS”

Mr Cragg asked Mrs Tran what else could be done. “If you talk with VGCL again, please tell them that their excuses for jailing her are shameful. It is right for Hanh to demand that workers be respected, and it is wrong for VGCL to brand her as a criminal,” she replied.

 

 

